LRMC announces temporary closure of LRT-1 Roosevelt station for the Common Station construction

Temporary closure from September 5 – December 28, 2020

06 August 2020, MANILA, Philippines,  —The Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) today announced the temporary closure of LRT-1 Roosevelt station effective September 5 to December 28, 2020 to accommodate the government’s construction of the Common Station also known as the Unified Grand Central Station (UGCS). The Common Station will connect the systems of LRT-1, MRT-3, and MRT-7.

During the temporary closure of Roosevelt station, the last stop of LRT-1 will be Balintawak station, northbound. LRMC previously planned to provide a Roosevelt shuttle train for passengers, but it will no longer be pursued due to existing circumstances brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic.

LRMC Chief Operating Officer Enrico Benipayo reiterated that the closure will be temporary. “The rest of our stations from Baclaran to Balintawak will be operational and we will continue to serve our LRT-1 passengers. We assure the public that this will only be temporary and the construction of the Common Station, in the long run, will give passengers a more comfortable and reliable commuting experience,” Benipayo said.

The Common Station is one of the big-ticket projects of the Department of Transportation (DOTr) to enable passengers to seamlessly transfer from one rail line to another.

LRMC is also coordinating with the DOTr and MMDA for the Bus Augmentation Project to support commuters from the Roosevelt area.

The public is advised to be guided accordingly on passenger advisories, any change in schedule, and plan trips ahead during this period. Follow @officialLRT1 on Facebook and Twitter and download the ikotMNL mobile app on App Store or Google Play for more updates.


LRMC is a joint venture company of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation’s Metro Pacific Light Rail Corporation (MPLRC), Ayala Corporation’s AC Infrastructure Holdings Corporation (AC Infra), Sumitomo Corporation, and the Philippine Investment Alliance for Infrastructure’s Macquarie Investments Holdings (Philippines) PTE Ltd. (MIHPL). It assumed operations and maintenance of LRT-1 in September 2015 through a PHP 65-billion 32-year concession agreement with the Department of Transportation and the Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA). LRT-1 is Metro Manila’s ISO-certified train system.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: